What's training like?

Although the techniques studied are traditional, the classes are run in a relaxed and friendly manner. We follow some key principles of Japanese etiquette – before, after and during class – mainly around showing mutual respect for your training partners and whoever is leading training.

This martial art is suited for beginners and those with more experience alike.

Training in Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu can provide you with a very adaptable set of skills that is perfect for self-defence. Nothing that we train in relies upon strength or speed – but with good timing and movement you can find ways of dealing with physically stronger opponents. You can become better at reading potentially dangerous situations and reacting before it’s too late too – it’s not just about fighting.

You can attend a class to watch if you are interested and can try out a class for free if you’d like to feel what it’s like. You don’t need any special clothing or equipment to start with – that can come later once you are sure it’s right for you. Just make sure you have clean clothing that you won’t be too hot or too cold in and have full range of movement in. Clean socks are important for hygiene.

  • Classes typically cover a range of
  • taisou – warming up safely, being aware of your limitations and any niggles or injuries you are carrying
  • ukemi – rolling and falling safely
  • kihon – fundamental techniques and principles – including
  • striking
  • joint locking
  • throwing
  • distance, angles and timing
  • buki – weapons training – including
  • hanbou – 3 ft stick
  • jou – 4 ft stick
  • rokushakubou – 6 ft stick
  • katana – Japanese sword
  • bou shuriken – throwing spikes
  • henka – variations – breaking down fundamentals and experimenting with movement

Grading in the Bujinkan is pretty straightforward:

  • white belt
  • mu-kyuu = no grade – everyone starts off here
  • green belt
  • kyu-kyuu-ikkyu = 9th kyuu to 1st kyuu
  • black belt
  • shoudan = 1st dan – the real start of training
  • nidan-yondan = 2nd dan to 4th dan
  • goudan = 5th dan – awarded by Hatsumi Soke in Japan – license to teach – become shidoushi
  • rokudan-kyudan = 6th dan to 9th dan
  • juudan = 10th dan – high level teacher – become shihan
  • juuichidan-juugoudan = 11th dan to 15th dan

Classes are currently open for men and women aged 16+ – contact us if you are interested in kids classes for future plans.

Martial arts beginners classes will be run regularly for those that are interested in a taster session – if you’d like to try one – please sign up here.